General Information

About the IRG-Rail

The IRG-Rail is the "Independent Regulators’ Group – Rail", a network currently comprising independent rail Regulatory Bodies from 31 European countries, including Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, North Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Foundation and Mission

On 9 June 2011 fifteen independent rail Regulatory Bodies signed the "Memorandum of Understanding” for the establishment of the Independent Regulators’ Group-Rail. They have voluntarily formed the group to facilitate cooperation in their common interests for the promotion of the internal railways market.

Objectives and Functions

The overall aim of the Independent Regulators’ Group – Rail is to facilitate the creation of a single, competitive, efficient and sustainable internal railways market in Europe. The IRG-Rail acts as a platform for cooperation, information exchange and sharing of best practice between national railway regulators in order to face current and future regulatory challenges in railways and to promote a consistent application of the European regulatory framework.

The group works in a collaborative manner organized in Working Groups.

go up