European Rail Freight Corridors

European Rail Freight Corridors

The Regulation (EU) No 913/2010 initiated the establishment of a European rail network for competitive freight. It sets out rules e.g. for the selection, organisation and management of the freight corridors.

Through the implementation and development of the rail freight corridors (RFC) the IRG-Rail is involved in related regulatory tasks that go along with the establishment of the corridors for international freight transport by the infrastructure managers. IRG-Rail initiates the requested cooperation between regulators and is used as a platform for exchange since the corridors have been set up.

So far nine Rail Freight Corridors (RFCs) along European transport axes has been established.

Information about coordination of international path requests of applicants is available on the homepage of the RailNetEurope (RNE) .

An overview of the nine Rail Freight Corridors running through Europe under the Regulation (EU) No 913/2010 is shown below.

Number Corridor Length in km crossing EU countries Website
1 Rhine-Alpine 3900 Italy, Netherland, Belgium, Switzerland, Germany RFC 1 
2 North Sea-Mediterranean 5300 United Kingdom, Belgium, Netherlands, Switzerland, Luxemburg, France RFC 2
3 Scandinavian-Mediterranean 7000 Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Austria and Italy RFC 3
4 Atlantic 6200 Portugal, Spain, France, Germany RFC 4
5 Baltic-Adriatic 4825 Poland,  Czech Republic, Slovakia, Austria and Italy RFC 5
6 Mediterranean 7000 Spain, France, Italy, Slovenia and Hungary, Croatia RFC 6 
7 Orient-East Med 7700 Czech Republic, Austria, Hungary, Romania, Greece, Bulgaria, Slovakia RFC 7
8 North Sea-Baltic 6000 Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, Czech Republic, Poland, Latvia RFC 8
9 Rhine-Danube 970 Czech Republic, Slovakia RFC 9
go up